Last Day of NaNoWriMo

While trying to get my final stretch of writing in before the day ends, I realized that there’s a difference between not knowing where a story is going and not knowing what’s happening in a scene. 

Like I have a draft of a story from 2009 that has needless dialogue and terrible plot holes. But I recall that when I was writing it, I was never at a lost of what was happening in each scene. I knew loosely where the story was going, even if I didn’t know all the particulars. 

With my NaNoWriMo this year, it’s the first story I’ve ever written where I didn’t always know what was happening. Like I’ll stop in the middle of a scene or at the end of a scene, and when I’m back in the scene or onto the next scene, I can’t fanthom what’s happening. I know where the story is going but it was the first time I ever drew a blank on what was actually occurring in the scenes.

I don’t know if that’s a reflection on my NaNoWriMo story, my writing ability, the NaNoWriMo formula with a focus on a word count, or a change in my writing habits. But it’s certainly a peculiar sensation. What’s weirder is that I’d wager I could easily write other stories without too much trouble. Where even if I don’t know the particulars, the scenes will just…live on their own, you know?

Leave a Reply

