Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King

The Guardians: Book One

by William Joyce and Laura Geringer

“He was not a wizard, a thief, or a warrior, but a powerful figure of unending mirth, mystery, and magic, who lived in a city surrounded by snow” (Joyce, 189).
Chapter Nineteen – Chapter Twenty-Four

As I said last time, for the second half of Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King, I recorded my responses and thoughts in a collective whole but based on length are divided into two posts.

Here’s the second.

Pitch had just turned North and Ombric into toys. So, on the subject of Pitch, let’s talk about his goals and feelings, shall we?

No one believes in him so he wants to rectify that. Despite his absolute power at night, as soon as morning comes, he is dismissed. And

“[e]ven worse, children had taken to calling him the ‘Boogeyman,’ a name he despised. And though they feared him, they did not entirely believe in him, either. But now—now!—he would be something he could see at any hour. Now he was something they could not deny.

This, of course, was not enough. New knowledge and weapons would be needed to conquer the day. Plaguing children with nightmares was just the beginning, he now realized. To achieve his goal, those nightmares would have to be believed” (174).

What he wants to achieve is actually quite terrifying – he wants nightmares to become real; he wants people to believe them. When something terrible or frightening happens in your sleep, that fear will be something that you cannot wake up from because you’ll believe it’s true.

Once Pitch finds where Katherine and the reindeer have hidden with North and Ombric (and after Katherine’s dream), he says that,

“‘I once had a Fearling prince slip out of my grasp, but it won’t happen again. But before I turn you into a Fearling princess, I want to hear one last scream'” (191-2).

And I have nothing coherent except: he wants to turn Katherine into a Fearling princess!  No! *horror*

Before I go on, I’d like to mention Katherine’s dream.

After she arrives with the spectral boy on a reindeer, riding a road of “a sort of mist of light”, she hides with Ombric and North in a cave with the reindeer (180).  While there, Katherine dreams of North as a splendid figure in a marvelous city. But what’s important is that

“the dream did something that only dreams can do: It became part of North, became his dream. It lived in his heart now and would never die” (190).

North’s future is created through Katherine’s view of him.

Now onto the ending. Prominently, it was confusing.

I get that her dream became part of North. I get that her belief put him back together when he broke (after Pitch threw him). I get why Pitch, in the djinni’s body, couldn’t harm them. So how did the spell of enslavement break?

A few others thoughts:

  • Lunar Lamas still weird me out via religion and cultural region (Himalayas)
  • Tsar Lunar or the Man in the Moon: I know he’s good and I can get behind the moon as good but the whole automatic kind face and good feelings toward him still weird me out. I think some of my problem stems from the undercurrent automatic goodness of a male figure. And my question is why? It’s that it’s instantaneous that’s unsettling and feels unnatural. It’s not a feeling I’ve ever experienced for men.
  • Yetis are cooks! “the Yetis (who, oddly, were accomplished chefs)” (226). They also are in Rise of the Guardians. (I think)

Oh and an important fact that’s revealed: the spectral boy is Nightlight and he was the one who protected the Man in the Moon when he was a baby and stopped Pitch in the first battle that Ombric told the children and their family about at Big Root.

Finally, there’s an implied passage of time and experiences that Katherine and the others’ are recouping from. I think this is supposed to be referring to their battle with Pitch.

But when I read “she’d also become accustomed to all this danger and adventuring” (227), I couldn’t helped wondering: What adventure(s) has Katherine been on?  I felt like I had missed some information or adventures.

Overall, I love this book. I love this whole series. I love the sentiment and character development.

in two weeks we proceed to Book Two: E. Aster Bunnymund and the Warrior Eggs at the Earth’s Core!

Words:

source

no words

Quote:

Pitch: “‘I’ll keep the djinni as a gift. Let’s just say it ‘suits’ me'” (197).

no, Pitch, don’t use puns

Works Cited:

Joyce, William and Laura Geringer. Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King. New York: Atheneum Books, 2011. Print.

One thought on “Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King

  1. Pingback: Toothiana Queen of the Tooth Fairy Armies | Work-In-Progress

Leave a Reply

